Locked in Cell

The cage is thick, she locked me away
Threw the key and left me to stay
A life sentence and my own penance
Weighs heavily on my shoulders, menace
To myself, what’s this grave about?
Dug it too deep and now can’t get out
My dreams are of an ocean
And I’m drowning in them
I reminiscence at my own expense
At a love we had, not banked but spent
Darkness shadows over me and blankets
My thoughts and hopes, some how comforts
Me in a state of epiphany
That these chains aren’t meant for me
And then the cage is vanished
And my hunger is now famished
The hole isn’t a grave
And I don’t need to be saved
Mind is set for me to advance
Upon this once grave I dance

Leave a Reply

