Not Your Oak

You so causally address the way I should confess
To a lie. But confused as you seem to be
I can’t comprehend how to navigate your sea
Drowning deep by the second. Loveliness your mistress
Ain’t it a shame what you choose to reprieve
Thinking I’d always be stone. Stuck alone home
With no one’s soul. Truth is everything is for free

I don’t want to be
Your tree
I’m not your roots
buried at your feet
I don’t want to be
Your tree
Just set me free

Call me up to say your quits, constantly talking shit
Like I don’t have a place to be
But beauty is only skin deep, yours has faded consequently
Because of all of your mistaken insanity
Driving away I pause to wave, never looking back
Looking more grave. Call it what you want, constantly
Eventually, it’ll fall on deaf ears. The past
Always catches up with your fears. Before too long
You’ll be on your knees.

I don’t want to be
Your tree
I’m not your roots
buried at your feet
I don’t want to be
Your tree
Don’t perch on me

Leave a Reply

