The Day the Sky Fell Apart

Before them was a glorious happiness
How did this become out of a bitterness
Sad we reflect on those past choices
And hope to god someone hears our voices
Tears streak down her cheeks, we came to
A point where he wonders what to do

I tried to be a superman
I hope you someday understand
A day I watched the sky fall apart
I know what it’s like to lose a heart

A dance alone in the rain to sing
Can’t let go of the pain it would bring
Whisper her name in hopes of a change
She wouldn’t stay as he tried to sustain
I hope she’ll one day come to understand
He would have died to be her superman

I tried to be a superman
I hope you someday understand
A day I watched the sky fall apart
I know what it’s like to lose a heart

Where did this all come to an end
So many hopes when this all began
Still that beauty he held onto is bled
And that girl he loved is gone and dead
The shovel slings forth the earth, it’s dirt
To cover that past life and hopefully the hurt

I tried to be a superman
I hope you someday understand
A day I watched the sky fall apart
I know what it’s like to lose a heart

Leave a Reply

