Controlled Burn

The match that’s struck to start a light
A flame ablaze to calm that fight
I control the burn, oh what a sight
Just you and I

Silly us, I reached out to brush your hair aside
Deep inside you had me feeling truly alive
Now it seems to be all pushing us all aside
Can’t fathom why

Please don’t say a word
Just let us stare
Into the empty space
Of our own hearts
I’d hoped that you’d see
How much you truly mean to me
To me

From silent nights I’d sit and stare
Watching you from the side there
Your beauty is just beyond that of fair
Don’t hear my, my

To tipsy nights of nervousness
Silly me thinking another sip made sense
Your blue eyes brought me to some peace
And now I made them cry

Please don’t say a word
Just let us stare
Into the empty space
Of our own thoughts
I’d hoped that you’d see
How much you want to be
With me

Every night I look up at the sky
With a heavy heart and a question why
Is this love, just you and I

I just keep burning, burning, burning you and I

Leave a Reply

