The Distance Factor

She simply smiled from across the room
And talk about how she’d leave the past behind soon
I just smile back and swoon
All while facing impending doom

She simply let a tear fall from her eyes
So many years she tried to believe those lies
It’s all clear right now, she realized
Everything in this world must finally die

I watch her from my spot in this life
She holds her head high through all this strife
Smiles as she handles the distance
Close we seem, so far away somehow, we reminiscence

She simply laughs at all of my jokes
Lucky to be alive, she shares with me all her hopes
Raising the future to all we know
About this world, we try to change this show

She simply whispers from her spot
Deep inside you’re always in my heart
I watch as the fires take away what’s left
No matter because it was all bereft

I watch her from my spot in this life
She holds her head high through all this strife
Smiles as she handles the distance
Close we may seem, far away somehow, we reminiscence

In this distance
Far away I fear
We reminiscence
Even though we are near

Leave a Reply

