Bushwhacked (Still Got Me There)

Started with a step, forward one by one
See my face, out of place, rude to me
Walk away from my jokes, moment gone and done
Watch you saunter away never what was to be

Sure the tears kept me company
And the moments continued to haunt me
But honestly, I’m better off, you’ll see

Want to speak, see you close and connect
Lump in my throat and thoughts of failure creep
Pass me by and time would soon direct
The moment for us to never meet

Sure the tears kept me company
And the regrets continued to haunt me
But honestly, I’m better off, you’ll soon see

Smile back towards me, we meet with a wink
Caught up in a dance called sin
Had to stop, sit and think
Was this me, probably not, that’s why it had to end

Sure the tears kept me company
And yeah, you may still go and haunt me
But honestly, I’m better off, you should see

Hurricane, hit the land and my head was wrecked
From the start, always an issue
Watch you fade from the person I first met
All I have now is the how I missed you

Sure the tears kept me company
And your choices they haunt me
But honestly, I’m better off, will you see

Oh, why did it take so long to find you
But now I see what happiness should be
And your heart helps keep me true
And mine beats for you constantly

Walked this path to go and find
What I needed, please be mine

Sure your heart keeps me company
And nothing any more can haunt me
And honestly, I’m better off now we see

Leave a Reply

